Resisting arrest is a charge in Greeley, Windsor, and Fort Lupton that can come about after interfering with police. Making threats, using force, or being violent while law enforcement is trying to make an arrest can be especially costly in Weld County. Sometimes, officers exaggerate a defendant’s behavior in these situations or try to cover up their own use of unnecessary force. If you or someone you know is being accused of resisting arrest in Weld, Larimer, or Morgan County, contacting a skilled defense attorney can go a long way in protecting your rights and future.
Weld County Resisting Arrest Law
Weld County’s resisting arrest law prohibits specific acts while someone is being taken into custody. CRS 18-8-103 defines the elements of resisting arrest throughout Colorado. Law enforcement will pursue charges if they believe you:
- knowingly prevented an officer,
- from taking you or another into custody,
- by using physical force, threats, or other means that present a risk of injury to the officer
Fighting an arrest, saying you’ll hurt police if they handcuff you, or jumping an officer arresting someone else can all lead to a charge. While emotions are likely high in these circumstances, cooperating with an arrest and fighting the charge(s) later will keep a bad situation from getting worse.
How Bad is Resisting Arrest in Greeley?
Resisting arrest carries its own penalties in addition to those for the crime the person is being picked up for. As a class 2 misdemeanor, a conviction for resisting arrest in Weld County can lead to:
- a county jail sentence of 3 – 12 months,
- fines of $250 – $1,000
A similar crime in Colorado with some key differences is obstructing a peace officer. This involves impeding a broader range of individuals including firefighters, EMTs, or police while they go about their duties.
Greeley Criminal Lawyer for Police Involved Crimes
When the alleged victim of a crime is law enforcement, the need for strategic representation is even higher. Defendants need an attorney who has fought these cases before, and won. Perhaps excessive force was used, you didn’t injure anyone knowingly, or the officer wasn’t acting in their official capacity. Nonetheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation. Our Weld County criminal lawyers will carefully look over your unique case and recommend next steps in your defense. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans, making skilled defense a reality for the accused. Don’t take an unreasonable plea deal or accept being overcharged or falsely accused – talk to one of our attorneys today!
Talk to us about resisting arrest charges – not the police. 303-731-0719
Photo by Kindle Media