Sex assault on a child is an especially serious allegation in Fort Collins, Loveland, and throughout Larimer County. The presumption of guilt in these cases is unlike any other, even when the evidence isn’t substantial or is based on rumors or stories. Accusations usually include claims that an adult groped or fondled an underage child (under 15). This includes rubbing their crotch, grabbing their but, or touching a girl’s breast for sexual arousal, gratification, or abuse. If you or someone you know is being accused of this child sex abuse in Larimer, Weld, or Boulder County, contact a skilled sex crime lawyer as soon as possible.
Larimer County Child Sex Assault Law
Larimer County’s child sex assault law prohibits sexual contact between young teens (as well as children 12 or younger) and someone more than 3 years older. CRS 18-3-405 provides the specific elements of sexual assault on a child throughout Colorado’s 64 counties. Police will pursue charges if they believe you:
- touched the genital area, butt, or breast(s),
- of a child 14 or younger,
- AND were 4 or more years older than the child at the time of the contact
These charges also apply to touching clothed intimate parts, as well as having the young person touch your intimate parts. Some of these cases escalate to sex assault on a child by a position of trust if the older party is responsible in some way for the minor’s health, welfare, education, or supervision. This law doesn’t specify any difference in age and includes sexual contact with those age 17 or younger.
How Serious is Sex Assault on a Child in Fort Collins?
Each SAOC case in Colorado is different. Penalties for a conviction will fluctuate depending on the specific facts of the situation. Sex assault on a child is at minimum a class 4 felony, potentially resulting in:
- a prison sentence of 2 – 6 years,
- fines of $2K – $500K,
- evaluation / treatment,
- strict supervision after incarceration,
- sex offender registration
However, if the contact happened more than once (pattern of abuse) or you used force or threatened the child the crime elevates to a class 3 felony. This can as much as double the prison sentence and add several thousand in fines.
Larimer County Sex Assault on a Child Lawyer
Speaking with a criminal defense attorney early on is critical in SAOC cases. Exercise your right to remain silent if contacted by police and don’t talk about the situation with others or online. Perhaps the contact simply didn’t occur, it didn’t involve intimate parts, or it wasn’t for sexual gratification. Nevertheless, contact our office for a free, confidential consultation with an experienced criminal lawyer. We will carefully analyze your unique case and recommend next steps in your defense. Our attorneys offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing child sex abuse allegations throughout Larimer, Weld, Denver, and Boulder County.
Talk to us about child sex abuse allegations – not the police. 303-731-0719
Photo by OVAN