First-degree assault in Aurora, Colorado is a crime that involves purposefully and seriously hurting another person. Injuries in these cases pose a significant risk of death, permanent disfigurement, or loss of a body part or impairment of its function. Broken bones and certain burns are also considered serious injuries. 1st degree assault often includes use of a deadly weapon. This can mean a wide variety of items ranging from your fist to a knife or gun. With lengthy penalties looming, contacting an experienced assault attorney is essential for those facing allegations.
Arapahoe County First Degree Assault Law
Arapahoe County’s first-degree assault law prohibits acts of deliberately causing another’s serious bodily injury. CRS 18-3-202 defines assault in the first degree throughout Colorado. You commit this offense in Aurora, Centennial, or Englewood if you:
- intend to cause and do cause serious bodily injury to another person,
- intentionally disfigure someone both seriously and permanently,
- permanently disable, amputate, or destroy a person’s body part or organ,
- threaten serious bodily harm to a police officer with a deadly weapon,
- purposefully strangle or suffocate a person to cause serious injury
The major factors when it comes to 1st degree assault are intent, level of injury, and use of a deadly weapon. It is important to note the severity of injury isn’t always apparent right away. Some injuries that involve a stab wound or gunshot wound become worse over time.
First Degree Assault Penalties in Arapahoe County
Each assault case in Colorado is unique. Penalties differ in each situation. Bail amounts alone in these cases sometimes exceed $100K. 1st degree assault is a class 3 felony throughout Arapahoe County. Conviction can result in:
- 10 – 32 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
- a minimum fine of $3,000
First-degree assault is a crime of violence which makes these sentencing parameters greater than other class 3 felonies.
Aurora Assault Attorney
Just because you’ve been charged with first-degree assault doesn’t mean you’re guilty. Securing a skilled criminal lawyer early on is vital in these cases and can substantially impact the outcome. While going to trial is sometimes the best course of action, other cases should go the route of a carefully mitigated plea deal. It is essential that defendants exercise their right to remain silent when contacted by police regarding assault. Don’t provide them with statements about the situation. Instead, contact our office for a free consultation with a strategic lawyer. We will carefully look over your unique case and suggest next steps in your defense, all while prioritizing your best possible outcome.