Drivers who are even slightly affected by alcohol or drugs can face DWAI charges in Arapahoe County. While this is most often a misdemeanor, penalties can include county jail time, fines, community service, and points against your driver’s license. As a holiday weekend quickly approaches, it is important to understand just how easily a few drinks or using marijuana can lead to trouble if you choose to drive afterwards. Contact a skilled DWAI defense attorney right away if you or someone close to you is being accused of driving while ability impaired in Colorado.
Arapahoe County DWAI Law
Arapahoe County’s DWAI law prohibits driving while impacted by drugs or alcohol. CRS 42-4-1301 addresses the specific details of driving while ability impaired throughout Colorado. You commit DWAI in Aurora, Centennial, or Englewood if you:
- drive a motor vehicle,
- while you’re affected by alcohol or drugs,
- in the slightest degree
Blood alcohol concentration (BAC) above .05% but below the legal limit of .08% is generally considered the range for a DWAI charge. Law enforcement sees drivers within these figures to be less able to mentally and / or physically drive safely. However, a BAC greater than .05% doesn’t make drivers automatically guilty of DWAI.
What Penalties Do I Face for DWAI in Colorado?
Each DWAI case is different. Therefore, the penalties differ as well. Prior DUIs or DWAIs in Colorado, or in other states, have a large impact on sentencing parameters. A first offense can result in 2 – 180 days in county jail, a maximum fine of $500, and up to 48 hours of community service. From there, another DWAI can result in a longer jail sentence, increased fines, and additional community service. DWAI offenses also add 8 points to your DMV driving record.
Aurora DWAI Defense Attorney
Driving high or tipsy can be costly in Arapahoe County. What started out as a good time with friends or family may end in troublesome ramifications. Take action by consulting an experienced DWAI defense attorney. Perhaps your BAC was under .05% when you drove, your driving was not impaired, or there wasn’t any probable cause to pull you over in the first place. That said, contact our law office today for a free consultation. We will carefully look over your DUI / DWAI case and recommend next steps, all while prioritizing your best possible outcome.