Third-degree burglary in Denver is an offense that involves breaking into a vault, safe, or cash register intending to commit a crime. Often the intent of this offense is theft of the contents inside the safe, vault, or locker. 3rd degree burglary isn’t necessarily a crime against a person, but rather a crime against specific property. Consulting an experienced burglary attorney is the first step in fighting these criminal charges. We invite you to contact our office if you have questions surrounding burglary or for a free, confidential consultation.
Denver Third-Degree Burglary Law
Denver’s 3rd degree burglary law prohibits breaking into locked equipment designed to protect or store valuables. CRS 18-4-204 provides the specific definition of burglary in the third-degree throughout Colorado. You commit this crime in Denver, Cherry Creek, or Montbello if you:
- intending to commit a crime,
- enter or break into,
- any vault, safe, cash register, coin vending machine, product dispenser, money depository, safety deposit box, coin telephone, coin box,
- or another apparatus or equipment whether or not coin operated
Slot machines, collection boxes in parking lots, school / gym lockers, and display cases can also apply as equipment that protects valuables.
Is 3rd Degree Burglary a Felony in Colorado?
Third-degree burglary is at minimum a class 5 felony in Colorado. A conviction in Denver can result in:
- up to 3 years in the Colorado Department of Corrections,
- fines of $1,000 – $100,000,
- 2 years of parole
3rd degree burglary can increase to a class 4 felony if controlled substances are the target. This can as much as double the prison sentence and increase the fines substantially if a person breaks entry to take prescription medications or marijuana.
Colorado Burglary Lawyer
Just because you’ve been charged with burglary in Colorado doesn’t mean you’re guilty. Consulting an experienced burglary lawyer early on has many benefits and often leads to a better outcome. Perhaps the equipment in question wasn’t meant to store valuables, your intent was formed after entry, or there was police misconduct. Our defense attorneys have decades of combined experience representing clients charged with felony offenses throughout Colorado with impressive results. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing burglary charges throughout Colorado.
If you or someone you know has been charged with burglary in Colorado, the time to act is now. Contact the highly-rated criminal defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Nicolas Hippert