As we approach the middle of summer in Colorado, drunk driving charges often rise in number. Even with the current pandemic impacting social drinking at bars and restaurants, many are still supporting their local liquor stores and enjoying drinks at home. Attending a small get-together with friends or celebrating a chance to visit with someone you haven’t seen in a while can be risky for those who choose to drive afterwards. You may not feel comfortable using a rideshare or public transportation at this point. However, the cost of trying to drive your own vehicle home under the influence can be high. Contact a strategic DUI lawyer right away if you’re facing a charge for driving under the influence in Colorado.
The Impact of High Alcohol DUI in Colorado
When a driver has a BAC of 0.15%+ in Colorado, they face an automatic classification as a persistent drunk driver. Even in a situation where the defendant doesn’t have any prior DUIs in Colorado or other states, they face increased penalties. Level II alcohol education classes and the possibility of an IID (ignition interlock device) for 2 years exist before a driver’s license can even be reinstated. While this is a high amount of alcohol in someone’s system, those who overdo it because they haven’t been out in while face lengthy ramifications.
Alcohol DUI vs Drug DUI in Adams County
Similar penalties exist for driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two. Prescription drugs and marijuana also apply to DUI in Colorado. With widespread marijuana use now the norm, driving while you’re high also comes with difficult consequences. We highly recommend that anyone pulled over on suspicion of alcohol or drug DUI limit what they say and politely decline any roadside maneuvers. If you are then arrested, it is best to submit to the express consent test. While it may be overwhelming and frustrating to be taken to jail, the best chance to fight the charges are in court with an experienced DUI lawyer by your side.
Adams County’s Top DUI Lawyer
Whether you’re facing DUI charges in Thornton, Brighton, or Commerce City, time is of the essence. With only 7 days to request a hearing to keep your driver’s license, you need Adams County’s top DUI lawyer representing you. Perhaps there were breath testing errors, blood testing inaccuracies, or there wasn’t probable cause for a traffic stop in the first place. That said, contact our office today for a free consultation. One of our skilled lawyers will look over your unique case with you, as well as recommend next steps in your defense. We offer affordable fees and flexible payment plans for those accused of DUI throughout the state of Colorado.
If you or someone you know is facing DUI charges in Colorado, the time to act is now. Contact the highly-rated defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Bruak K