Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351
COVID-19 RESPONSE: We are open and available to meet with you in-person or via phone / video conference. Click our number to connect with an attorney.

Blog

Driving Under Restraint Attorney in Adams County

driving-under-restraint-attorney-omalley-and-sawyer-llc.jpgDriving a vehicle when your license has been denied, revoked, or suspended is unlawful in Adams County, Colorado. We often see this crime when someone with an alcohol offense, such as DUI or DWAI, drives while their license is under suspension. In other cases, a defendant may have exceeded their DMV point limit, or committed a hit-and-run or vehicular assault. With warm weather upon us and a holiday weekend quickly approaching, police will undoubtedly be out and about. If you're arrested and charged with driving on a suspended license, contact an experienced driving under restraint attorney right away.

Adams County Driving Under Restraint Law

Adams County's driving under restraint law prohibits operating a motor vehicle with certain restrictions on your license. CRS 42-2-138 defines the specific violations throughout the state of Colorado. You commit driving under restraint in Thornton, Brighton, or Commerce City if you:

  • drive a car, truck, van, or motorcycle,
  • while your driver's license has been denied, suspended, or revoked,
  • for any reason in any state

Even drivers from out of state can catch a DUR charge driving in Colorado if their license is under suspension in their home state. Driving with a revoked license due to a drug or alcohol related offense carries the harshest penalties.

Is Driving Under Restraint a Misdemeanor in Colorado?

DUR is a misdemeanor throughout the state of Colorado. Driving while your license is suspended for something other than DUI or DWAI can result in:

  • up to 6 months in county jail,
  • a maximum fine of $500

However, when your license is revoked for an alcohol or drug related offense, a DUR conviction can lead to:

  • up to 12 months in county jail,
  • a maximum fine of $1,000

Additionally, DUR convictions often lead to an extension to the period in which your driver's license will be suspended. This can be anywhere from months to years, depending the time between offenses.

Thornton Traffic Attorney

Traffic crimes in Thornton, Commerce City, and Brighton require experienced, strategic representation. Just because you've been charged with DUR doesn't mean you're guilty. Perhaps you never got a notice stating your license was suspended, someone made a clerical error, or you drove due to an unavoidable emergency. That said, contact our office today for a free consultation with Adams County's best defense attorneys. We will carefully analyze your unique case, as well as recommend next steps in your defense. Our affordable fees and flexible payment plans make obtaining a skilled attorney possible in these uncertain times.

If you or someone you know is facing an allegation of driving under restraint in Colorado, be smart. Contact the highly-rated criminal defense attorneys at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by JD Weiher

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

This site uses Google's Invisible reCAPTCHA, which is subject to Google's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.