Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351
COVID-19 RESPONSE: We are open and available to meet with you in-person or via phone / video conference. Click our number to connect with an attorney.

Blog

Third-Degree Assault Charges in Denver

third-degree-assault-charges.jpgThird-degree assault charges in Denver can result from situations where someone knowingly or recklessly hurts another person. Injuries in this specific offense are nonserious and don't lead to permanent damage. Cuts and bruises are common wounds resulting from a 3rd degree assault in Colorado. Use of a deadly weapon can apply to assault in the third degree, but only in cases that involve criminal negligence. An allegation of assault in Colorado requires the defendant to proceed carefully and contact an experienced criminal lawyer right away.

Denver 3rd Degree Assault Law

Denver's third-degree assault law prohibits causing bodily injury to another. C.R.S. 18-3-204 addresses these specific violations in Denver, Lodo, Stapleton, and Park Hill:

  • "a person commits the crime of assault in the third degree if:
  • the person knowingly or recklessly causes bodily injury to another person,
  • or with criminal negligence the person causes bodily injury to another person by means of a deadly weapon."

Throwing an item at another person and causing injury is a common example of this form of assault. This action fits the element of knowingly and can often result in a bruise or cut. Acting recklessly often applies to injuries that result from someone being in a hurry or ignoring the risks of their behavior. Finally, criminal negligence often applies when a firearm goes off by accident or a weapon isn't handled carefully and these actions result in injury.

Is Third-Degree Assault an Extraordinary Risk Crime?

Third-degree assault is a class 1 misdemeanor and an extraordinary risk crime in the state of Colorado. This specification can heighten penalties to:

  • 6 - 24 months in county jail,
  • fines of $500 - $5,000

Additionally, some instances of 3rd degree assault in Denver involve conduct between current or former romantic partners. This can lead to a domestic violence enhancement that includes a mandatory arrest and immediate protection order. A defendant may not be able to return home or have any contact with specific family members in these situations.

Denver's Best Assault Attorney

Securing a capable criminal defense attorney is vital in cases of assault. Colorado's laws are strict and allegations require careful analysis from an expert. We have decades of experience representing clients navigating assault charges and can apply specific defenses to your unique situation. Perhaps you're being falsely accused, you were acting in self-defense, or there was a lack of intent. Nevertheless, it's best to contact our office for a free consultation. Our attorneys offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans to make quality representation a reality.

If you or someone close to you is facing an assault charge in Colorado, be smart. Contact our highly rated criminal lawyers at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by Andrea Piacquadio

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

This site uses Google's Invisible reCAPTCHA, which is subject to Google's Privacy Policy and Terms of Use.

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.