Charged With A Crime? It Doesn’t Mean You’re Guilty.

Careless Driving Attorney | Jefferson County Criminal Defense

| Apr 30, 2020 | Careless Driving |

careless-driving-attorney-omalley-and-sawyer-llc.jpg

Careless driving is a Colorado traffic offense described in C.R.S. 42-4-1402. Anytime a person drives their vehicle without paying close attention to the road and surroundings, a careless driving charge could result. In difficult times such as these, it isn’t uncommon for those behind the wheel to be thinking about other things. Health, employment, and finances have taken centerstage and could easily distract one’s thoughts while driving. Additionally, car tech is all around us in our vehicles both guiding us and sometimes, taking our attention off the road. Consult a strategic careless driving attorney today if you’re facing allegations of this traffic crime.

Elements of Careless Driving in Colorado

It is important for Colorado drivers to understand what their conduct behind the wheel can mean when law enforcement gets involved. Specific to careless driving, a person in Lakewood, Arvada, or Golden commits this offense if they:

  • drive a motor vehicle, bicycle, e-bike, or scooter,
  • in a careless and imprudent manner,
  • without attention to the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic,
  • and use of the streets and highways

Time and time again people risk careless driving charges for doing things like eating while driving and colliding with property or another car. Speeding during Colorado’s sometimes abrupt weather changes can also be considered careless driving. Negligent driving that puts other’s at risk is textbook careless driving in Colorado.

What Penalties Do I Face for Carless Driving in Jefferson County?

Each careless driving case is different. Thus, the penalties are as well. Injury is a specific element that can drastically alter ramifications. When no one gets hurt, careless driving is a class 2 misdemeanor potentially leading to:

  • up to 90 days in county jail,
  • fines of $150 – $300,
  • 4 points on driving record,
  • community service

In cases where injury does occur, however, careless driving becomes a class 1 misdemeanor. Conviction can result in:

  • up to 12 months in county jail,
  • fines of $300 – $1,000,
  • 4 points on driving record,
  • community service,
  • restitution

Jefferson County Careless Driving Defense

Defendants who respond promptly to an accusation of careless driving often experience a better outcome. By contacting a skilled careless driving attorney early on, drivers equip themselves with a better understanding of their charges and how to navigate the situation. We have decades of combined experience representing clients facing careless driving with injury and carless driving. Rather than trying to explain yourself to police or the prosecutor, hire an experienced traffic attorney to represent you. We offer a free consultation, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans to ensure access to quality representation for those facing traffic crimes throughout Colorado.

If you or someone close with you has been charged with careless driving in Colorado, the time to act is now. Contact the highly-rated defense attorneys at O’Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo by Orkun Azap