False imprisonment charges in Weld County, Colorado can result if someone unlawfully detains another person without their consent. Locking another in a room or blocking the doorway are common examples of this crime in Greeley, Windsor, and Fort Lupton. While some who face accusations of false imprisonment don’t mean to imprison anyone, law enforcement is quick to manufacture charges. Domestic violence is sometimes a factor in these situations as well, further complicating matters. Anyone facing allegations of false imprisonment should seek a quality defense attorney as soon as possible.
Things to Know About Colorado False Imprisonment
Violations of Colorado’s False Imprisonment laws are found in CRS 18-3-303. You commit this offense in Weld County if you:
- confine or detain another person,
- without their consent,
- AND without legal authority
Sometimes arguments or altercations lead to false imprisonment accusations because an interaction gets heated or someone is cornered in a room. If the two people involved are or were in an intimate relationship at some point (spouse, partner, ex, etc), domestic violence enhancements can apply. In these situations, mandatory arrest laws kick-in and you may not even be able to return to your home after arrest.
How Long Do You Get for False Imprisonment in Greeley?
When false imprisonment doesn’t involve any force or threats and was less than 12 hours, a class 2 misdemeanor applies. Consequences can include:
- 3-12 months in county jail,
- fines of up to $1,000
However, if you use force or threaten the use of force or the victim is confined for 12 hours or more, a class 5 felony can apply. Ramifications in these scenarios can be up to 3 years in prison and fines of $1,000 – $100,000. A criminal record can also significantly affect job opportunities, your right to possess firearms, and application for professional licenses.
Weld County False Imprisonment Lawyer
Contacting an experienced criminal defense lawyer early on is important in cases of false imprisonment. Vital evidence exists that needs to be preserved and carefully analyzed. Perhaps the alleged victim was free to leave at any point or you didn’t use threats or force. Contact our office today to schedule a free consultation. We will thoroughly look over your unique case and recommend next steps, all while prioritizing the best possible outcome.
If you or someone you know is facing false imprisonment charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact Weld County’s best criminal defense attorneys at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo by Henry & Co.