False reporting to authorities is a criminal charge in Douglas County, Colorado that involves providing fake reports to police or other authorities. Falsely reporting a crime or setting off a fire alarm as a prank can lead to charges in Highlands Ranch, Parker, and Castle Rock. The false reporting law in Colorado has nuances to it that requires the expertise of a skilled criminal lawyer if facing accusations or charges.
What is False Reporting to Authorities in Douglas County?
C.R.S. 18-8-111 defines the elements of Colorado’s false reporting law. Someone commits false reporting to authorities if:
- (a) He or she knowingly:
- (I) Causes by any means, including but not limited to activation, a false alarm of fire or other emergency or a false emergency exit alarm to sound or to be transmitted to or within an official or volunteer fire department, ambulance service, law enforcement agency, or any other government agency which deals with emergencies involving danger to life or property; or
- (II) Prevents by any means, including but not limited to deactivation, a legitimate fire alarm, emergency exit alarm, or other emergency alarm from sounding or from being transmitted to or within an official or volunteer fire department, ambulance service, law enforcement agency, or any other government agency that deals with emergencies involving danger to life or property; or
- (b) He makes a report or knowingly causes the transmission of a report to law enforcement authorities of a crime or other incident within their official concern when he knows that it did not occur; or
- (c) He makes a report or knowingly causes the transmission of a report to law enforcement authorities pretending to furnish information relating to an offense or other incident within their official concern when he or she knows that he or she has no such information or knows that the information is false; or
- (d) He or she knowingly provides false identifying information to law enforcement authorities.
Can You Go to Jail for False Reporting in Colorado?
False reporting to authorities is most often a class 3 misdemeanor in Colorado. Conviction can result in up to 6 months in county jail, as well as up to $750 in fines. However, if you cause an alarm to go off while committing another offense, a class 2 misdemeanor applies. The county jail sentence increases to up to 12 months and you can be fined as much as $1,000.
Finally, making a false report of an emergency is a class 1 misdemeanor and can lead to up to 24 months in county jail if the situation causes an evacuation of some type or bodily injury.
Douglas County Criminal Defense
Facing a charge of false reporting to authorities requires assistance from a skillful criminal defense lawyer. Perhaps you believed your report was factual or the scenario did in fact occur. Nonetheless, contact our office for a free initial consultation. We offer same-day jail visits, affordable fees, and flexible payment plans for those facing accusations.