Arson can be charged in Thornton, Northglenn, and Commerce City whenever someone sets fire to or burns property. Whether the property is damaged or destroyed, impactful criminal charges can result. A man was arrested in Colorado last week after allegedly trying to set fire to other people using an accelerant in a local park. The situation escalated when the suspect's friend allegedly assaulted a firefighter and a bystander during the arrest. Criminal charges like these require strategic representation from an experienced arson lawyer.
Can You Commit Arson on Your Own Property in Thornton?
The degree of arson depends on the type of property, who it belongs to, whether the fire was set intentionally, knowingly, or recklessly, and the value of the damaged property. Arson is a felony offense in Adams County when:
- the property burned is a building or occupied structure,
- the burn is meant to defraud,
- or the act was committed intentionally or knowingly
Sometimes homeowners intend to damage even their own property and claim the insurance proceeds. If the intent of the arson is to defraud someone or something like an insurance company, felony charges can result. Misdemeanor arson, however, occurs when someone:
- burns property other than a building or occupied structure (without intent to defraud),
- the damage amounts to less than $100,
- no one is endangered by the fire itself
How Long Do You Go to Jail for Arson in Colorado?
Potential ramifications of an arson conviction depend on the degree and details (type and value) of the property involved. Felony arson can result in lengthy prison sentences in the Colorado Department of Corrections and thousands of dollars in fines. Misdemeanor arson penalties include up to one year in county jail and fines of up to $1,000. Typically, restitution to the victim whose property was either damaged or destroyed also applies to conviction.
Do You Need a Lawyer for an Arson Charge in Adams County?
The laws surrounding arson in Colorado are complex and full of variation. A skilled arson lawyer by your side is critical in forming a strong defense. Our criminal defense attorneys have decades of experience defending clients charged with felonies and misdemeanors throughout Colorado. One critical piece of advice is that you exercise your right to remain silent in any arson case. Don't provide law enforcement with statements of any kind. Instead, contact our office for a free consultation. Our strategic defense lawyers will carefully analyze your unique case and suggest next steps, all while prioritizing your best possible outcome.
If you or someone you know is facing arson charges in Colorado, be smart. Contact the highly skilled defense attorneys at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.
Photo Credit: Pexels - moein moradi