Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Third-Degree Assault Attorney in Colorado

third-degree-assault-attorney-in-colorado.jpgAssault in the Third Degree is a charge in Colorado that can stem from many different situations. Recently, a former assistant football coach at CU pleaded guilty to 3rd degree assault in regards to altercations with his ex-girlfriend. Allegations included statements that he repeatedly choked his former girlfriend on numerous occasions. Charges like this can damage a person's reputation, alter or end their employment, and hurt families. If you're caught up in a situation like this it is important to contact a skilled third-degree assault attorney in Colorado.

What is Third-Degree Assault in Colorado?

Third-Degree Assault - C.R.S. 18-3-204 is essentially a charge that stems from one person inflicting bodily injury on another person. An actor can commit this crime either knowingly or recklessly. Assault in the third degree can also occur if bodily injury is caused by a deadly weapon with criminal negligence. Bodily injury has a broad definition that includes causing someone else physical pain, illness, or impairment of physical or mental condition. This includes a bruise, cut, concussion, or even illness from coming into contact with bodily fluid. A deadly weapon refers to a firearm (loaded or unloaded), a knife, bludgeon, or other weapon, device, instrument, material, or substance that is capable of inflicting serious bodily injury or death.

Examples of Assault in the 3rd Degree | Colorado Defense Lawyer

There are many different actions that can result in a third-degree assault charge. Below are just a few generic examples:

· Throwing something that hits and injures an intimate partner

· Pushing, punching, or other horseplay that causes injury to another

· Fights resulting in cuts, bruises, or scratches

Sentencing for Third-Degree Assault in Colorado

Because 3rd Degree Assault is identified as an extraordinary risk crime, the sentence itself is enhanced. Typically, a class 1 misdemeanor in Colorado could include up to 18 months in jail. Due to the extraordinary risk title, this class 1 misdemeanor now includes up to 24 months in jail as a potential consequence. In addition, conviction can include up to a $5,000 fine. If the crime involves a victim that was pregnant and the actor knows that the victim was pregnant, a mandatory minimum of 6 months in county jail applies. It is easy to see why contacting an experienced criminal defense attorney is a critical step in any assault case.

Attorney for 3rd Degree Assault Charge in Colorado

If you've been arrested or charged with Assault in the Third Degree in Colorado, the first thing to do is consult an aggressive defense lawyer. Next, don't speak to police or investigators. If they contact you, let us know and we'll do the talking. We have the ability to put our 40+ years of combined courtroom experience to work for you. Ensuring that all evidence is accurately and properly evaluated, we can from a defense on your behalf that is crafted with your best outcome in mind.

If you or someone you know is facing assault charges of any kind, act today. Call the experienced defense attorneys at O'Malley and Sawyer at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Photo Credit: Pixabay - Anemone123

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.