There Are Many Ways to be Charged With Theft in Colorado
Theft, C.R.S. 18-4-401, is charged in Adams County when a person obtains, keeps, or takes control over anything of value that does not belong to him or her. It is also charged when a person is accused of receiving something of value in Thornton or Commerce City and takes out a loan against it, or disposes of anything he or she knows has been stolen. The class of crime charged against those accused of Theft in Colorado depends on the value of the item or items stolen.
What Class of Crime is Theft in Jefferson County?
Although the intent is the same regardless of the dollar value involved, Theft is charged differently depending on the cumulative value of the things stolen. It is charged as a Petty Offense if the value is under $50.00 in Jefferson County and throughout Colorado. If the stolen property or money is valued between $50.00 up to $1,999.00, Theft is moved from a Petty Offense up to the Misdemeanor classes. Once the value exceeds $1,999.00, Theft is charged as a Felony, up to and including a class 2 Felony for stealing one million dollars or more. A conviction of this kind can land a person in the Colorado Department of Corrections for a minimum of 8 years and a maximum of 24 years. An interesting twist in how Theft is charged, involves how the amounts are aggregated when someone steals two or more times within a six month period, or if someone steals from the same person within a six month period of time. When either of these situations arises, adding together the value of items stolen will often bump the charges up into a more serious class crime. Read more about Theft classifications in Colorado.
Theft by Deception - Not Just Taking Something - Taking an Identity in Arapahoe County
The problem of Theft by deception within the mortgage industry in Arapahoe Coutny and across Colorado has prompted lawmakers to write special language into the Theft statute making this kind of theft less attractive to con artists. Hundreds of thousands of dollars are at stake in this kind of crime. Plus, it impacts the ownership of real property across Colorado. The exceptions and enhancers to this Theft crime have become somewhat complicated making it all the more important for anyone accused of Theft to contact an attorney as soon as possible.
Douglas County Defense Lawyer for Theft Charges
If you are accused of Theft in Douglas or Boulder County, it does not mean we believe you are guilty. Often times, prosecutors file charges in cases when there has been a misunderstanding between people. So, when facing Theft charges, we caution our clients against making any statements to law enforcement. Quotes can be twisted and used against people in court, as police are not always 100% honest. Instead, we urge you to call the lawyers at O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC. We know how to help get you through the legal system and we know how to get the best possible result in your case. So be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us at 303-731-0719. Together we can protect your future.