O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Second Degree Arson After the 4th of July in Jefferson County, Colorado

Jefferson County Second Degree Arson by Fireworks

The 4th of July is a celebration of fun. Fireworks remain a central part of this national holiday, even if the government is trying to shut them down. No, Jefferson County government, we don't want your perfect world where no one is injured, because no one has any fun. Life is full of risks and a charge of 2nd Degree Arson is ridiculous simply because a dry field caught fire from a firecracker.

Denver 2nd Degree Arson After Fireworks - Get a Lawyer's Help

Kids and adults shoot off fireworks in the county and cities of Golden, Arvada and Wheat Ridge. When a field in Denver burns and damages some old items stored in a shed, you can be charged with a class 4 Arson felony. There was no intent to injure anyone and no great loss when an old shed burned. Barbeque grills, camp fires and blowing trash sometimes start an unintended fire in Denver.

Definition of Second Degree Arson in Douglas County

Douglas County has a lot of rural land where lighting a trash fire does not normally put property in danger. Yet if the wind blows, it is possible for things to accidently get out of control. In this situation, you may be charged with Arson in the 2nd Degree. The definition of Second Degree Arson is: When (1) a person knowingly (2) sets fire to, burns, causes to be burned, or by the use of any explosive damages or destroys, or causes to be damaged or destroyed, (3) any property of another without his consent, other than a building or occupied structure. More on Second Degree Arson.

Penalty and Sentence for Second Degree Arson in Arapahoe and Adams County

As crazy as it sounds, Second Degree Arson is a class 4 felony when any damage is $100 or greater. If the damage is below $100, then the crime is only a class 2 misdemeanor. There is a huge difference in punishment, based on a $1 difference. If you damage a dry field to the sum of $99, you can spend up to a year in the Arapahoe County Jail. If you damage a field by $100 in losses, you can be a felon and go to the Department of Corrections for up to six years.

It is very important to be quiet when police or fire investigators come on the scene. Without your statement, they may not be able to prove you started a fire. Reasonable doubt exists when our clients remain silent. Call our Second Degree Arson lawyers at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.