Arapahoe County Theft Attorney - Receipt of Stolen Property?
Theft, C.R.S. 18-4-401, is charged in Denver County whenever a person is accused of "obtaining, retaining, or exercising control over anything of value of another without authorization or by threat or deception..." A person can also be charged with Theft in Arapahoe County if that person "receives, loans money by pawn or pledge on, or disposes of anything of value or belonging to another that he or she knows or believes to have been stolen. Theft is actually a very broad crime which can range from a petty offense all the way up to a very serious class 2 felony, depending on the value of the item.
The Mind of a Thief in Douglas County and Lone Tree
Recently an indictment was handed down for a Lone Tree, Colorado man who is alleged to have taken $16 million through Securities Fraud. A person that is charged with shoplifting at Park Meadows Mall may also be charged with Theft if she is accused of taking a three dollar package of incense. The mindset and elements of Theft are the same, but in Colorado the man charged with taking $16 million will face a class 2 felony and the possibility of spending 24 year prison, while the shoplifter is looking a petty offense with only a very remote possibility of a short stay in the Douglas County Jail. The value of the item allegedly stolen can make a huge difference in Colorado Theft. In both cases, if convicted, the defendants will be required to pay restitution.
Criminal Record From Theft in Jefferson County = Long Term Hurt
Today, any criminal record may have a serious impact for the rest of your life on future employment or housing opportunities. That is why if you are accused of Theft in Jefferson County, Arapahoe County or anywhere in Colorado, you need to find the best lawyer you can. Prosecutors often over-charge defendants in order to scare them into taking a guilty plea and to give them a better track record for convictions. When a defendant does not have good legal representation, prosecutors love it. If you are accused of Theft, it is always in your best interest to get a free legal consultation at O'Malley Law Office, P.C. You have nothing to lose and a ton to gain. Read about Theft classifications and Theft by Deception.
Charged with Theft in Adams County Does Not Mean Guilt
If you are accused of Theft in Adams County, does not mean we believe you are guilty. Sometimes Theft is charged when there is a simple misunderstanding between people. That is one reason why we caution our clients against making any statements to law enforcement which may be twisted and used against them in court. Instead, we urge you to call the attorneys at O'Malley Law Office, P.C. We know how to help get you through the legal system and we know how to get the best possible result in your case. So be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us at 303-731-0719. Together we can protect your future.
Image Credit: FreeDigitalPhotos.net - Stuart Miles