O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

What is a Restricted Driver's License Violation? A Denver Criminal Defense Lawyer Explains

Drivers-License.jpgInterlock Restricted License Violation in Araphaoe County

When someone loses their Colorado driver's license in Denver or Arapahoe County, they may be given a restricted license with limits on where they can go or needing special equipment like an interlock device. If the driver violates the rules given with their restricted license, it is a violation of Colorado law and the Department of Motor Vehicles may cancel their license and driving privilege altogether.  Read the rules on getting an Interlock Ignition device license.

DUI and Restricted License in Jefferson County When Revoked for Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol Conviction

A restricted license is sometimes given to drivers after their conviction for drinking and driving. Following an initial period of no driving, DMV might give someone a license to drive with an Interlock device. This is the device which requires you to blow into the device before you can start your car. If you have alcohol in your system, it will lock you out of the system and not allow your car to start. The idea is to make it safe for the public. But what occurs if you drive another car when your restricted license says you can only drive the car with an interlock device?  Driving without a license is driving under restraint.

Restricted License Violation - C.R.S. 42-2-126, in Adams County and Penalty for Probationary License Violation

When someone violates the terms of their restricted or probationary license, they will get charged with a Restricted License violation at 42-2-126. This deals with driving a motor vehicle "in any manner in violation of the restrictions, limitations, or conditions imposed in a special restricted license . . . issued by the department or by another state or country." This is a class A traffic infraction, with a possible penalty of a $15 to $100 penalty.

The Department of Motor Vehicles Penalty? Douglas County Lawyer Says: "Stop Driving - Period"

When you get a restricted license, DMV is giving you a second chance. If you get caught driving in violation of the rules for your new license, the Department of Motor Vehicles in likely to completely take away your driving privilege. No more driving, period. You will be expected to find another way to work, school, medical appointments and the grocery store. The way they see it is that you were given a special break and you knowingly violated the rules.

If you have been charged with Restricted License violation under C.R.S. 42-2-126, never give a statement to police. They will not try and help you out. Instead, call the best traffic lawyers at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Image Credit: Pixabay - TBIT

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.