Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351


Careless Driving Charges in Denver - Criminal Defense Lawyers

Every crime seems to have a wild card which is charged when police can't make any other crime fit. In the traffic crimes world, Careless Driving is that wild card. Police charge careless driving when they want to charge someone with a traffic offense, but can't make a speeding, red light or failure to signal charge stick. In more serious cases, they will charge Reckless Driving. The definition of Careless Driving is:

C.R.S. 42-4-1402 - Careless Driving - is defined as:

A person who drives a motor vehicle, bicycle, electrical assisted bicycle, or low-power scooter in a careless and imprudent manner, without due regard for the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic, and use of the streets and highways and all other attendant circumstances, is guilty of careless driving.

Careless Driving Comes in More Than One Variety in Douglas and Arapahoe County

Whether in Aurora or Centennial in Arapahoe County, police and prosecutors will charge one of the following versions of the Careless traffic offense:

1. Careless Driving Basic Version - no property or personal harm involved. This crime generally results when an officer responds to a traffic accident where there are no other traffic charges which fit. It is a four point violation against your driver's license, and is called a Class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense.

2. Careless Driving with Bodily Injury - Bodily injury to another person which results from your careless driving will raise this case to a class one traffic offense.

3. Careless Driving with the Death of Another Person - If someone's death results from careless driving, it is a class one traffic offense, and the points against your license raise.

What is the Sentence for Careless Driving in Adams and Jefferson County?

Generally, a Careless Driving violation is a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense, and carries a penalty of 10 to 90 days in Arapahoe County Jail and anywhere from $150 to $300 in fines. If you plead guilty to or are convicted of class 2 misdemeanor Careless Driving, it will add 4 points to your Department of Motor Vehicles record. If someone dies, this charge increases to a 12 point offense on your license and you face the possibility of greater county jail time. Twelve points is enough for you to lose your ability to drive in Colorado as DMV will revoke or suspend your driving privilege.

Our traffic attorneys are ready to defend you from these serious charges, particularly where bodily injury or death results. Never speak to the police about your charges, but call our traffic crimes lawyers at 303-731-0719, for an immediate initial consultation. Together, we can protect your driving future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!


Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.


Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.