O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Changes to Denver DUI / DWAI Laws that Affect Driving Privileges

You Can Now Get Reinstated Sooner from your DUI / DWAI

In Arapahoe and Douglas County, defendants charged with DUI / DWAI want to know whether they will be able to continue to drive. Defendants usually have to deal with the criminal case separate and apart from any ramifications that occur at the DMV. They are two separate matters. Fortunately, recent changes to DUI / DWAI laws in Colorado make it possible to reinstate your driving privileges early. Read more about DUI / DWAI Facts in Colorado.

Colorado's Express Consent Law

Colorado's Express Consent Law, C.R.S. 42-4-1301.1, requires a driver to consent to a chemical test of their blood or breath if law enforcement has reasonable grounds to believe the driver is under the influence or their ability to operate a motor vehicle is impaired by drugs, alcohol or both. Prior to 2014, when drivers refused to submit to a blood or breath test under Colorado's Express Consent law, the driver would lose their driving privileges for 1 year with no option to reinstate early or obtain a probationary license.

Changes to Colorado drunk driving laws now mean that drivers can reinstate early, even in cases of a 1st offense refusal. Now, a driver can now reinstate their driver's license with a probationary license and the interlock ignition system after 2 months. Early reinstatement of driving privileges will require the driver to have an ignition interlock installed in their vehicle for 2 years.

Second or Subsequent DUI / DWAI Charges in Colorado

Changes to DUI / DWAI laws have also made it so that people on their second offense can reinstate early. Prior to 2014, a second or subsequent per se revocation for a BAC of 0.08 or greater required a 1 year license revocation with no driving, meaning the driver would only be eligible to reinstate with the interlock after not driving for 1 year. Now, a driver with a second or subsequent per se revocation may early reinstate with an ignition interlock restricted license after 1 month of no driving.

If you or a loved one is charged with DUI / DWAI, you need an experienced attorney in Adams or Jefferson County who can represent you in the Court and at the DMV. We have spent years defending the accused against DUI cases across Colorado, and we can help you too. So, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us today at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.