O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Colorado Sex Offender Registration / Deregistration Attorney in Denver

C.R.S. 16-22-113 is the Law on Sex Offender Registration / Deregistration

Arapahoe, Denver, and Douglas County permit individuals to deregister from the sex offender registry after a specific time period has elapsed from the end of their case. The time calculation is based on the type of underlying conviction or adjudication that a person has. When someone has completed the entire sentence, the clock starts. Misdemeanors usually require the convicted person to register for 5 years after the completion of their sentence. The rules and time frame changes for felony conviction sex offender registration / deregistration. For a class 4, 5, and 6 felony, and some misdemeanor sexual crimes, 10 years of registration is required, while a conviction for class 1, 2, or 3 felony requires registration for 20 years.

Convictions from Other States are Treated Similarly

In Colorado, out-of-state sex offender registration / deregistration is very similar to an in-state convictions; with only a few notable differences. The primary difference is Colorado imposes a filing fee on individuals who try to deregister for an out-of-state conviction. Secondly, the courts in Boulder, El Paso, Larimer, and Clear Creek County will look at the conviction from the other state and compare the law to Colorado law. The time requirement for deregistration in the state of Colorado will be based upon the court's comparison of the two crimes, unless shown to be inaccurate.

Deferred Judgments for Sexual Crimes Require Less Registration

When a defendant receives a deferred judgment in Jefferson, Adams, and Broomfield County, the time requirement for registration is less. Every County in the state of Colorado allows a person who is guilty of a deferred judgment to petition to deregister after the completion of the sentence. For example, if you were sentenced to 2 years of probation, after you successfully complete the probation, you are eligible to deregister from the sex offender registry.

Juvenile Deregistration for Sex Offenses Differs from Adults

Juveniles in Parker, Lakewood, and Aurora have different rules on sex offender registration /deregistration.  They may petition to deregister once their sentence is successfully completed. The courts apply factors to examine whether they will allow deregistration. The factors provided in C.R.S. 16-22-113 center on whether the person is likely to commit another offense involving unlawful sexual behavior. They utilize information from (1) the probation or parole officer, (2) the treatment provider, (3) the district attorney, (4) information in the presentence report, and (5) the victim(s). After considering this information, the Court will then determine whether the youth may deregister.

We Can Help You Register or Deregister

We have clarified registration requirements and successfully deregistered many men and women. Deregistration has positive implications for you or your loved one. If you or someone you know wants to deregister, call us at 303-731-0719 today. Together, we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.