O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Unlawful Sexual Contact, C.R.S. 18-3-404, Criminal Attorney / Lawyer

Have you ever slapped a woman's butt or patted a teammate's rear end for a job well done? A simple and meaningless act such as either of these situations could cause you to face criminal charges for Unlawful Sexual Contact. Also referred to as Sexual Assault in the Third Degree, this crime of simply touching another person's behind, breasts, or pubic area is a sexual crime and will be punished through jail time or probation, fines, and sex offender registration.

Some people are charged with Unlawful Sexual Conduct in Arapahoe, Adams, and Larimer County when they touch another person after they have had too much to drink or used medications. The presence of these substances along with the sexual contact is what forms the basis of this charge. Another example of illegal sexual contact is where a person instructs a child to touch, have sex with, or do any other sexual act with a third party. This is not usually charged as the felony Sexual Exploitation of a Child or Sex Assault on a Child.

Unlawful Sexual Contact as Either a Felony or Misdemeanor

Unlawful Sexual Contact is a class 1 misdemeanor. However, if force, intimidation, or threat is used to bring about the sexual contact, then the District Attorneys in Denver, Boulder, and Douglas County will charge it as a class 4 felony. Thus, the maximum punishment for this crime will vary from 24 months in jail to 16 years in prison. If you are charged with a crime for touching the breasts of a physically helpless person, you will face Sex Offender Registration.

Registration and Deregistration as a Colorado Sex Offender

In Aurora, Lakewood, and Loveland those convicted of this misdemeanor or felony will register as a Sex Offender for a minimum of ten years after being released from jail or terminated from probation. In order to stop registering, hire a criminal defense lawyer to help you deregister in Jefferson, El Paso, and Weld County.

It is important to have an attorney represent you for charges of Unlawful Sexual Contact. A lawyer will impact you being found guilty or not guilty, having maximum or minimum fines, probation or jail. When dealing with a criminal matter like third degree sexual assault, you need an attorney on your side fighting for your best interests. So, if you've been charged with Unlawful Sexual Contact or any other sexual crime, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us for a free consultation at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.