O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Minor in Possession of Alcohol, MIP Lawyer

Summer is just around the corner and I wanted to ensure that young adults 18-21 years old, and juveniles who are under 18, are aware of the law concerning alcohol use. Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol by an Underage Person, a/k/a Minor in Possession of Alcohol, a/k/a MIP, C.R.S. 18-13-122, is a common charge when kids and young adults are drinking beer or wine or hard liquor. If a parent is present and gives permission for the child to drink, these laws will not apply.

The first time a person is charged with Minor in Possession of Alcohol, they can get up to 24 hours of useful public service, a $250 fine and may be required to submit to a substance abuse evaluation or an alcohol evaluation. If the young person does not have any additional offenses within 1 year, they can have their record sealed of the MIP charge.

The second time an MIP occurs, the young person can get a fine up to $500, twenty-four hours of UPS, and must submit to the alcohol evaluation.

A third offense for Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol by an Underage Person, will result in a class 2 misdemeanor conviction, the possibility of up to a year in jail, a fine and alcohol evaluation and treatment.

Many young kids think that this charge is a joke. It certainly is not. City Attorneys and District Attorneys will view it as the entry into the criminal justice system. Considering at least 50% of criminal misdemeanors and felonies are alcohol related, the government seeks to stop alcohol use right away. In addition, a young person can lose their driver's license for an MIP in Colorado.

If you are contacted regarding a Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol by an Underage Person, a/k/a Minor in Possession of Alcohol, a/k/a MIP, charge, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call our experienced MIP lawyers at 303-731-0719 right away. Together, we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.