O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Reckless and Careless Driving in Colorado

Maybe you were not paying attention to your speedometer in a hurry, but speeding can be a serious offense in Colorado counties like Denver, Boulder, or Arapahoe County. A driver can be charged with Careless Driving and Reckless Driving depending on whether they were speeding, how fast they were driving, and the manner in which they were driving.

Two common Colorado traffic offenses which accompany speeding are Careless Driving and Reckless Driving. A person who drives a motor vehicle, bicycle, electrical assisted bicycle, or low-power scooter in a careless and imprudent manner, without due regard for the width, grade, curves, corners, traffic, and use of the streets and highways and all other attendant circumstances, is guilty of Careless Driving (C.R.S. 42-4-1402). A person who drives a motor vehicle, bicycle, electrical assisted bicycle, or low-power scooter in such a manner as to indicate either a wanton or a willful disregard for the safety of persons or property is guilty of Reckless Driving (C.R.S. 42-4-1401).

A person who commits Reckless Driving commits a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense. If the offense is a second or subsequent conviction, the person will be punished by either (or both) a fine of anywhere from $50 to $1,000, or imprisonment in jail for 10 days to six months. Careless Driving is also a class 2 misdemeanor traffic offense, unless the person's actions are the proximate cause of bodily injury or death to another, then the person commits a class 1 misdemeanor traffic offence. If the offence results in death, then it is also possible that the offender could be charged with Manslaughter (C.R.S. 18-3-104) or Vehicular Homicide (C.R.S. C.R.S. 18-3-106).

The DMV adds 8 points to your license for Reckless Driving and 4 points for Careless Driving. In addition to that, you will also lose points for speeding. 1 point will be taken off for speeding 5-9 mph over the limit, 4 points for 10-19, 6 points for 20-39, and 12 points will be taken off for going 40+ mph over the speed limit. Adults who are over 21 will lose their license if they accumulate 12 points in 12 successive months or 18 points in 24 successive months. Reckless driving would be a loss-of-license offense for drivers under 18, who only need to accumulate 6 points in 12 successive months to lose their license.

If you are being charged with Careless or Reckless Driving in any Colorado county such as Adams, Douglas, or Broomfield County, you need one of our experienced attorneys to represent you. Contact us today at O'Malley Law Office at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, part of Thomson Reuters.