Denver Hit and Run Attorney
A Colorado Springs man was arrested in connection with the hit and run death of a 14 year old, and although it is unclear at this point what charges he faces, it is likely to be Vehicular Homicide (C.R.S. 18-3-106) or Hit and Run Involving Death (C.R.S. 42-4-1601 (1.5) (c)). In Douglas, Arapahoe, and Denver County, Vehicular Homicide requires proof of reckless driving that was the cause of death, while conviction for a Hit and Run Involving Death just requires an accident resulting in death where the driver left the scene of the accident.
El Paso County Traffic Crime Lawyer: Your Record Can Make a Difference
While it is uncertain in this case whether the driver was driving recklessly, he has a long history of traffic offenses such as Driving Under Restraint (C.R.S. 42-2-138) and a felony conviction for Vehicular Eluding (C.R.S. 18-9-116.5). He is being held in the El Paso County Jail on a $10,000 bond.
Adams County Criminal Lawyer Advice: Never Leave the Scene of an Accident
The worst thing you can do if you are in an accident in Adams, Jefferson, or Weld County is to leave the scene of the accident. Because accidents are just that--accidental--even those resulting in serious bodily injury or death are usually charged as Careless Driving, a 4 point traffic offense. While fleeing the scene after a super scary accident may be a natural fight or flight response, doing so compounds the possible criminal consequences exponentially and Colorado prosecutors will be much less likely to offer a good plea bargain. Leaving the scene of an accident resulting in death can turn what would have been a charge for Careless or Reckless Driving (a misdemeanor traffic offense) into a class 3 felony.
Additionally, whether an accident results in injury or not, the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) will assess 12 points against your driver's license and suspend your license for one year if you leave the scene of an accident.
At the O'Malley Law Office, we have been defending people accused of Colorado Hit and Run or Vehicular Homicide for over twenty years in Denver, Jefferson, Larimer and any other Colorado county. We're prepared to fight for your freedom. If you or a loved has been contacted by the police regarding leaving the scene of an accident, be smart, exercise the right to remain silent, and call us at 303-731-0719. Together we can protect your future.