Concealed Carry Permit

Colorado Concealed Carry Defense Lawyer in Arapahoe County

Having the legal ability to carry a concealed handgun in Arapahoe County is beneficial, for both one's safety and the safety of others. Handguns have saved countless lives. Being able to carry a handgun legally in Englewood carries a large weight of responsibility. Colorado law is very cautious about who is allowed to possess a Concealed Carry Permit, and because of this, there is an application process that ultimately comes to the verdict of either the sheriff or the court. If you are applying for a Concealed Carry Permit, our Defense Lawyers can help.

Because of the confusion that previously materialized out of cities and counties having different concealed carry laws, Colorado has established a statewide constant concerning carrying a concealed handgun. The legislation concerning concealed carry has been constant on a statewide level since 2003.

Douglas County Concealed Carry Applicant Requirements

In Douglas County and in all of Colorado, the requirements of a concealed carry applicant are:

  • Be a legal Colorado resident
  • Be 21 years of age or older
  • Demonstrate competence with a handgun
  • Pass a background check
  • Submit a permit processing fee that is determined by the sheriff (not exceeding $100)

Considering applying or previously rejected for a Concealed Carry Permit? We can help.

Restrictions for Applying for a Concealed Carry in Jefferson County

There are certain restrictions facing Colorado residents when applying for a permit. The concealed carry applicant in Jefferson County will automatically be turned down if:

  • The applicant is a habitual user of alcohol to the point of impairing normal abilities.

(However this is not a limiting factor if the applicant provides a signed statement from an addiction counselor who proves the applicant has been alcohol free for three years.)

  • The applicant has two or more alcohol-related convictions within 10 years preceding the application.
  • The applicant currently has a restraining order against him or her
  • The applicant is ineligible to possess a firearm, under Section 18-12-108, C.R.S., or federal law.
  • The applicant has been convicted of perjury.

Adams County Sheriff Denies Concealed Carry Permit

The ultimate decision is up to the Adams County Sheriff. If they believe there is reason to turn down the permit, due to the applicant's previous behavior that may pose a danger to self or others by getting the permit, then the sheriff can deny the person a permit. The sheriff will turn down any applicant that does not meet all the criteria, and he or she has the ability to revoke or suspend any permit issued. If the sheriff denies the applicant a permit, he or she has the option of arguing the case at a judicial review. The sheriff has the burden of proof to show why the applicant would be ineligible for the Colorado Concealed Carry Permit, based upon the evidence at hand.

Defense Attorney for Denver, Colorado Concealed Carry Permits

We have been helping people get their Colorado Concealed Carry Permits in the Denver Metro Area and throughout Colorado. If you are considering applying for a concealed carry permit or have been previously rejected, be smart; contact an experienced Denver Defense Attorney today - call O'Malley and Sawyer, LLC at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect America.

For further understanding of Colorado Firearms Law, read our Firearms Rights and Crimes page.

Facing Charges? Get Help Now!