O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Disarming a Police Officer Charges in Denver and Jefferson County, Colorado - Easy to Be Charged

Jefferson County and Denver Disarming a Police Officer Charges

Denver Charges for Disarming a Police Officer can occur intentionally or by accident. More often, these charges stem from accidental conduct in a scuffle with overly aggressive police officers, during a resisting arrest case or obstruction case. It is rare that someone intentionally tries to take a police officer's gun. Remember though, we are not just talking about guns under this charge. Let's look at the definition of Disarming a Police Officer in Jefferson County and across Colorado.

Definition of Disarming a Police Officer in Arapahoe County and Aurora, Colorado

Across Arapahoe County and in the City of Aurora, we see the following definition used for Disarming a Peace Officer, C.R.S. 18-8-116:

A person commits disarming a peace officer if he or she knowingly, without justification and without consent, removes the firearm or self-defense electronic control device, direct-contact stun device, or other similar device of a peace officer who is acting under color of his or her official authority. Read more on Police Officer Crimes.

Douglas County, Colorado Officer Weapons Supporting Disarming a Police Officer Charge

What happens if an officer's taser falls out of its holster during a Douglas County Sheriff Deputy's overly zealous arrest? You get charged. What happens when a Parker Police Officer loses his gun from its holster and you don't even touch it? You get charged. Guns, tazers, knives, numbchucks, or a lost batton, can all support the charge of Disarming a Police Officer in Castle Rock. Be careful. The law is written to support officers in all their decisions to be rough on you. Whether alcohol or drugs are motivating your conduct, you will be charged by police if they are separated from their weapon.

Attempt to Disarm a Police Officer is a Felony in Adams County Court, Colorado

Attempt for any crimes is one class less than the base charge. It is no difference with Disarming a Police Officer. Level / class 6 felony convictions are punished by 12 to 18 months in the Colorado prison system, with the potential for up to $100,000 in fines.

Never give a statement to officers or police detectives if you've been arrested for Disarming a Police Officer or the attempt. You need to preserve all evidence from our side of the case and not help the DA convict you by revealing otherwise confidential information. Call our Disarming a Police Officer charges lawyers at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business.