O'Malley Law Office, P.C. Free Initial Consultation
South Denver: 303-731-0719
North Denver: 303-916-9006
Toll free: 866-365-9351

Blog

Minor in Possession of Alcohol, MIP, C.R.S. 18-13-122

Illegal Possession or Consumption of Ethyl Alcohol by an Underage Person - (C.R.S. 18-13-122), also known in Colorado as "Minor in Possession of Alcohol", or simply MIP. We often get calls from parents of students in Ft. Collins, Greeley, and Boulder Colorado, charged with this crime. A student living away from home in an environment where it is only legal for some to drink is a recipe for trouble. In Larimer, Weld, or Boulder County, it is illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to consume or even possess alcohol, and college campuses are a particular problem.

Any Conviction for MIP Can Have a Lifelong Impact

Punishment that used to be between the faculty and a student or between a parent and child, no longer exists. Like it or not, (I don't) the government has taken that role, and the punishment they inflict has lasting effects. So when good kid gets in trouble for doing a dumb thing, you need someone on your side who understands. You also need someone that knows the law. That is when you need to call the O'Malley Law Office.

Penalty for MIP Convictions in Colorado

A first conviction for a Minor in Possession of Alcohol, MIP, in Weld and Larimer County can result in a fine of not more than $250.00, and up to 24 hours of Useful Public Service (UPS). The court may also order an alcohol evaluation, alcohol education program, or alcohol treatment at your own expense. On the second offense, the fine can double to $500.00, and the court will order an evaluation and education/treatment. With a third or more conviction in Arapahoe, Douglas or Denver County, an MIP is treated as a class 2 misdemeanor with more serious consequences, including the possibility of county jail.

An MIP conviction will also have repercussions on your driving privileges under C.R.S. 42-2-125. It does not matter if a vehicle was involved in the offense! If convicted, you may have your license revoked for 3 months with no probationary license. Upon a third conviction it can be up to one year.

At the O'Malley law office, P.C., we always look at the bigger picture. We know a conviction of any kind may keep a person from employment, foreign travel or entering the military, so we fight hard for the best possible outcome to your case. If you are under 21 years old and are accused of Minor in Possession of Alcohol, remember you are not required to take a breathalyzer or blood test. This is different than a DUI / DWAI, and the rules are not the same. But one piece of advice remains unchanged: "be smart, exercise your right to remain silent, and call us at 303-731-0719. Together we can protect your future.

No Comments

Leave a comment
Comment Information
Facing Charges? Get Help Now!

GET HELP NOW!

Tell us about your case and one of our experienced attorneys will get back to you promptly.

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Case Results:

  • Sexual Assault and Rape charges related to divorce. Acquittal from jury trial. Weld County, Greeley, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Possession of Child Pornography. Acquittal from jury trial. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Arson of Nursing Home. Dismissed by Court on Defendant's Motion to Dismiss. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Felony Drug Distribution. Acquittal from jury trial. Boulder County, Boulder, Colorado.
  • Rape and Sexual Assault charges involving divorce and child custody. Acquittal from jury trial. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Burglary and Felony Theft. Dismissed by District Attorney. Arapahoe County, Englewood, Colorado.
  • Theft of Drugs by Nurse. Dismissed by District Attorney. Jefferson County, Golden, Colorado.
  • Sexual Assault on a Child, Position of Trust. Acquittal from Jury Trial. Adams County, Brighton, Colorado.
  • Domestic Violence. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock, Colorado.
  • Violation of Restraining Order. Dismissed by District Attorney. Douglas County, Castle Rock.

24 hour emergency service Same-day jail visits Free initial consultation Reasonable fees Flexible payment plans

Call Toll free: 866-365-9351 South Denver: 303-731-0719 North Denver: 303-916-9006 Email us

FindLaw Network

Privacy Policy | Business Development Solutions by FindLaw, a Thomson Reuters business.