Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries

Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries, Denver Lawyer on Leaving the Scene of an Accident

Under Colorado law, C.R.S. 42-4-1601, Colorado lawmakers now define a person's responsibilities following their involvement with a traffic accident or collision in our state. This law was previously called Leaving the Scene of an Accident.  Our law now provides steep penalties unlike anything we have seen in prior years, when this law was entitled Leaving the Scene of an Accident. Our new law provides:

The driver of any vehicle directly involved in an accident resulting in injury to, serious bodily injury to, or death of any person shall immediately stop such vehicle at the scene of such accident or as close to the scene as possible or shall immediately return to the scene of the accident. The driver shall then remain at the scene of the accident until the driver has fulfilled the requirements of section 42-4-1603 (1). Every such stop shall be made without obstructing traffic more than is necessary.

A Breakdown of Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries and Duties in Jefferson County

First, the accident must have injury or death to a person (Property damage is handled under a separate statute, C.R.S. 42-4-1604).

Second, the driver must stop immediately - you can't drive home first.

Third, the driver needs to go to the scene of the accident.

Fourth, the driver should stay at the scene until he has given his name, address and vehicle registration.

Fifth, the driver must render aid to an injured person: call an ambulance, call police, or put them in your car and drive them there.

Sixth, report the collision to the nearest police department.

Penalties for Violations of Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries / Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Arapahoe County

For violating this crime, penalties can be steep. A person can be charged with:

(a) A class 1 misdemeanor traffic offense if the accident resulted in injury to any person;

(b) A class 4 felony if the accident resulted in serious bodily injury to any person;

(c) A class 3 felony if the accident resulted in the death of any person.

Plus, the Department of Motor Vehicles is required to revoke the driver's license if they are convicted. It does not depend on whether you are convicted of a misdemeanor or felony version.

Further penalties include up to 18 months in the Arapahoe County Jail for 18 months with the misdemeanor conviction. For a class 4 felony, the sentence can be up to 6 years in prison (Department of Corrections), and with a class 3 felony, a potential 12 year sentence to DOC.

"Serious bodily injury" means injury that involves, either at the time of the actual injury or at a later time, a substantial risk of death, a substantial risk of serious permanent disfigurement, or a substantial risk of protracted loss or impairment of the function of any part or organ of the body, or breaks, fractures, or burns of the second or third degree.

Adams County Attorney for Leaving the Scene of an Accident or Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries

Due to a large number of Hit and Run accidents, Colorado's law makers passed the Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries - Duties law. They transformed what used to be a small crime into something huge. The idea was to hold people accountable when they left the scene were someone might be bleeding and in need of assistance. Some crashes went unnoticed and the injured did not get timely medical assistance. We practice law in Brighton, Colorado, handling cases in Brighton, Northglenn and Thornton. You can count on our help by calling us 24/7.

Never speak with police when contacted about Accidents Involving Death or Personal Injuries charges. Officers and trained to gather information against you - not to benefit you. Next, call the best traffic criminal defense lawyers at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Facing Charges? Get Help Now!