Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft

Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in Jefferson County, Colorado and its Definition

Use of the word "aggravated" seems unnecessary with this crime. Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in Jefferson County, Colorado, involves taking a car, but not taking a car by force, violence or the use of a deadly weapon. So, what is aggravated?  Let's look at this crime so you can be more prepared to defend your future and freedom.

Definition of Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in Arapahoe County, Colorado

When our lawyers talk about the Arapahoe County Court definition of Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft, we are referring to that definition a jury will be given at the close of the evidence during a trial. Then, the jury is supposed to decide whether the government proved that the person on trial did some act which met each part of the definition - referred to as the elements. Here are the elements for Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft:

(1st part) A person knowingly obtains or exercises control over the motor vehicle of another without authorization or by threat or deception and:

(2nd part - one of these)

1. Keeps possession or control for more than 24 hours, or

2. Attempts, or actual does alter or disguise the appearance of the motor-vehicle, car, truck or motorcycle, or

3. Changes the vehicle identification number of the vehicle, or

4. Uses the motor vehicle in the commission of a crime, or

5. Causes $500 of damage to the vehicle while in his possession or while attempting to gain possession, or

6. Causes bodily injury to another person when they have possession of the car or truck or motorcycle, or

7. Removes the motor-vehicle from Colorado for more than twelve hours.

Felony Classes of Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft in Douglas County and Adams County

In Douglas County, Colorado, and Adams County, Colorado, this crime can be a class five, class four or a class three felony, all of which are punishable by a sentence to the Colorado Department of Corrections. A class 3 felony occurs if the value of the vehicle exceeds $100,000 or if the person has been convicted of motor vehicle theft two prior times. It is a class 4 felony if the vehicle value is $20,000, but less than one hundred thousand dollars. Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft is a class 5 felony if the vehicle's value is less than twenty thousand dollars.

Never speak with police about an accusation of Aggravated Motor Vehicle Theft. They are trying to get you to admit the elements of the crime to convict you. Instead, call our affordable criminal defense lawyers at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Facing Charges? Get Help Now!