Colorado Sex Offender Deregistration - Questions and Answers

Colorado Sex Offender Registration / Deregistration

Who is eligible to deregister? C.R.S. 16-22-113

Sex offenders for offenses like Unlawful Sexual Contact and Sexual Assault on a Child are required to register following their sentencing for a sexual offense conviction.  At the end of their period of registration, Arapahoe, Denver, and Douglas County allow individuals to begin the deregistration process from the sex offender registry.  It is essential that you keep registering until a court issues an order to deregister. The time requirement before you can apply to deregister is based upon the underlying conviction. Once the person has completed the entire imposed sentence, the clock begins. Most misdemeanors require the convicted person to register for 5 years. A felony conviction for Class 4, 5, and 6, and some misdemeanor sexual crimes, is 10 years. Finally, felony convictions of class 1, 2, and 3 require 20 years of registration.

If I received a deferred judgment for a sexual crime, when am I able to deregister? C.R.S. 16-22-113

When a person receives a deferred judgment in Adams County and Jefferson County, Colorado, the courts do not impose the same time requirement as with convictions. Every County in Colorado allows a person who pleads guilty to a deferred judgment to deregister after the completion of the sentence. For instance, if the person was sentenced to 3 years of probation under the deferred judgment, after the 3 years of probation are completed, the person is eligible to apply to a court to deregister from the sex offender registry in Colorado.

If my conviction is from another state, may I deregister in Colorado? C.R.S. 16-22-113

In Colorado courts, deregistration for an out-of-state conviction are handled very similarly to an in-state conviction. There are only a few notable differences. The first difference is that the state of Colorado imposes a filing fee on people who try to deregister from an out-of-state sexual conviction. The second difference is the courts in Boulder, El Paso, Larimer, and Weld County will examine the underlying conviction from the other state and compare that law to Colorado law. They will then determine what Colorado sexual crime the out-of-state conviction most closely resembles. The time requirement for deregistration in Colorado will be based upon the comparison.

If I was a juvenile at the time of my conviction, when am I able to deregister? C.R.S. 16-22-113

Juveniles in Westminster, Denver, Lakewood, and Aurora are able to deregister once their sentence is completed. The major difference for juveniles is that the Colorado Courts have to determine whether they will grant the petition to deregister. The factor the Courts most consider is whether the person is likely to commit a subsequent offense of or involving unlawful sexual behavior. They weigh this factor based upon input from (1) the probation or community parole officer, (2) the person's treatment provider, (3) the district attorney, (4) any information in the presentence report for the individual, and (5) the victim(s). After considering all of this information, the Court will then rule on whether the person may deregister.

Do we have the experience to protect you in the deregistration process?

Absolutely. We have successfully deregistered over a hundred in-state and out-of-state individuals. Deregistration can eliminate a great time, financial and stigma burden off you and your family. If you or someone you know is interested in deregistration, call our experienced sex offender deregistration lawyers at 303-731-0719 today. Together, we can protect your future.

Facing Charges? Get Help Now!