Child Abuse, C.R.S. 18-6-401 (7)(a)(VI) and (7)(b)

Denver Criminal Misdemeanor Child Abuse Attorney

District attorneys and Colorado police usually charge our Colorado clients with misdemeanor child abuse when the alleged abuse results in bodily injury. Misdemeanor child abuse charges can result from allegations of any injury. Whatever the situation, it is important that you contact a full-time criminal defense lawyer in Denver, Colorado, and nearby in Arapahoe County, Douglas County, Jefferson County, Larimer County, Weld County and Adams County, right away. Never give statements to the police, even over the phone.

C.R.S. 18-6-401, child abuse is a Class 1 misdemeanor in our state when a person is alleged to have acted knowingly or recklessly, and the alleged child abuse results in any injury other than serious bodily injury. Child abuse is a Class 2 misdemeanor when a person is alleged to have acted with criminal negligence and the child abuse results in any injury other than serious bodily injury to the child.

Misdemeanors are punishable in Colorado by imprisonment in county jail. Therefore, you need an experienced Colorado criminal defense lawyer at your side. As Colorado criminal lawyers working in Denver, Colorado, and nearby in Arapahoe County, Douglas County, Jefferson County, Weld County, Larimer County and Adams County, we often see child abuse charges when there are allegations of parents being involved in an argument that turns physical, even if the children never see anything. Here, the government will also allege assault in addition to the child abuse charges. With these two charges, the government will threaten lengthy county jail time. It is essential that you obtain an experienced Colorado criminal defense attorney.

We have seen parents charged with child abuse if they leave their sleeping child unattended in a car while they run into the store for a quick errand. At times, parents leave their children unsupervised at home with a sibling to watch them. Unless the "sitter" child is deemed to be old enough to handle anticipated needs of the children being watched (usually at least 12 years of age), child abuse charges are likely.

Because a child abuse charge on your record can be devastating to your future, it is important that you take these charges seriously and contact one of our experienced Colorado criminal lawyers at once. You need to hire a Colorado criminal attorney who has experience representing others charged with child abuse in Denver, Colorado, and nearby in Arapahoe County, Douglas County, Jefferson County, Weld County, Larimer County and Adams County. At O'Malley Law Office, we have been aggressively defending people charged with child abuse for 18 years, and we can put that knowledge to work in your Colorado child abuse case. Contact us right now and talk with an experienced lawyer who will defend you!

Facing Charges? Get Help Now!