First-Degree Arson

First-Degree Arson — Not Always What It Seems

When charged with first-degree arson in Denver, Arvada, Aurora, Parker or any other Colorado municipality or county, you will need a criminal lawyer to help you through this struggle. Many people are wrongly charged of this crime. Accidents involving fire happen all the time. We have represented the elderly who did not know what they were doing when starting a fire and teenagers who started a small fire which got out of hand. Sometimes it seems as though the district attorney is out to get you and charge you with this crime even though the fire was caused by an accident. When this happens, you need a Denver criminal defense attorney who will want to fight for you.

In Colorado, the government has a high burden of proof. It must prove every element of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt. The attorneys at O'Malley Law Office P.C. will hold the government to its burden of proof. Many times, our attorneys will be able to show the flaws in the government's case; they will be able to show the judge and jury how you are being wrongly charged. Other times, our experienced lawyers will be able to protect your rights and have the charges reduced or even dropped.

Specifics of the Charge

First-degree arson is one of our Colorado arson crimes and is defined as a crime under C.R.S. 18-4-102. The law defines the act as: a person knowingly sets fire to, burns, causes to be burned, or by the use of any explosive damages or destroys, or causes to be damaged or destroyed, any building or occupied structure of another without his consent. First-degree arson is considered a Class 3 felony. A Class 3 felony will normally carry a prison sentence of four to 12 years with five years of parole. A fine usually accompanies the prison sentence as well.

There is also a caveat in the language of the law. The law in Colorado is that if any person is convicted of first-degree arson and he or she used an explosive to cause that arson, then that person will be sentenced pursuant to the mandatory sentence for violent crimes under C.R.S. 18-1.3-406. This mandatory minimum sentence means that if you are convicted of this crime, the range of prison time is somewhere between eight and 24 years with five years of parole.

Talk to a Criminal Attorney at No Charge About Your Criminal Defense Matter — Flexible Payment Plans Available

You need a lawyer who will fight for justice and to protect your rights. We offer a free initial consultation in our office to discuss your case. We even have flexible payment plans to make our work affordable. So, if you have been contacted by a Colorado police officer regarding any potential arson charges, be smart, exercise your right to remain silent and call us right away at 303-731-0719. Together, we can protect your future.

Facing Charges? Get Help Now!